What it costs new
New from: as reported by Auto Trader NZ, Apr 2026 (list price, on-road costs extra).
Range and charging
- Battery
- 54 kWh
- Range, WLTP
- 416 km
- Fast charge peak
- Not stated
- Battery
- 64 kWh
- Range, WLTP
- 452 km
- Fast charge peak
- Not stated
- Battery
- 64 kWh
- Range
- Not stated
- Fast charge peak
- Not stated
As stated on Auto Trader NZ, read Oct 2026. A range with no test named is MG’s own figure.
What it costs to run
- Running cost a year
- $1,560
- At 14,000 km, charged at home overnight
- Energy use
- 15.3 kWh/100km
- As stated for its trim
Against a petrol car
The 2026 MG4 costs $1,710 a year less to run, and puts out 2.1 tonnes less CO₂e
| A year | 2012 Toyota Corolla | 2026 MG4 |
|---|---|---|
| Uses | 6.8 L/100 km | 15.3 kWh/100 km |
| Fuel or power | $3,270 | $500 |
| Road user charges | $0 | $1,060 |
| Total | $3,270 | $1,560 |
| CO₂e | 2,250 kg | 190 kg |
Power at 21.1c/kWh: 50% of New Zealand's 42.1c, as retailers' overnight EV plans charge (an assumption). The MG4's stated energy use (Urban 15.3 kWh/100 km, from Auto Trader NZ) plus 10% for charging losses; 91 petrol at $3.43/L (MBIE, week to 2 October 2026). Servicing, tyres and insurance aren't included.
On NZ roads
2,783 on the register: 2,778 first registered here new, 0 as used imports.
| Year | New | Used import |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 1,773 | 0 |
| 2024 | 252 | 0 |
| 2025 | 105 | 0 |
| 2026 | 648 | 0 |
First registrations by year, NZTA’s motor vehicle register.
Charging where you live
Rivals
Questions
How much is a MG MG4 in NZ?
New from $38,990 (list price, on-road costs extra; as reported by Auto Trader NZ, Apr 2026).
What's the range of a MG MG4?
Up to 452 km on a charge, as MG states it (WLTP).
How many MG MG4s are on NZ roads?
2,783 on the register: 2,778 first registered here new and 0 as used imports.
