What it costs new
New from: Omoda’s published price, read Oct 2026 (list price, on-road costs extra).
Range and charging
- Battery
- 58.9 kWh
- Range, WLTP
- 430 km
- Fast charge peak
- Not stated
- Battery
- 58.9 kWh
- Range, WLTP
- 430 km
- Fast charge peak
- Not stated
As stated on Omoda’s NZ page, read Oct 2026. A range with no test named is Omoda’s own figure.
What it costs to run
- Running cost a year
- $1,570
- At 14,000 km, charged at home overnight
- Energy use
- 15.5 kWh/100km
- As stated for its trims
Against a petrol car
The 2026 Omoda E5 costs $1,700 a year less to run, and puts out 2.1 tonnes less CO₂e
| A year | 2012 Toyota Corolla | 2026 Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| Uses | 6.8 L/100 km | 15.5 kWh/100 km |
| Fuel or power | $3,270 | $500 |
| Road user charges | $0 | $1,060 |
| Total | $3,270 | $1,570 |
| CO₂e | 2,250 kg | 190 kg |
Power at 21.1c/kWh: 50% of New Zealand's 42.1c, as retailers' overnight EV plans charge (an assumption). The Omoda E5's stated energy use (between BX 15.5 and EX 15.5 kWh/100 km, WLTP, from Omoda's NZ page) plus 10% for charging losses; 91 petrol at $3.43/L (MBIE, week to 2 October 2026). Servicing, tyres and insurance aren't included.
On NZ roads
332 on the register: 331 first registered here new, 0 as used imports.
| Year | New | Used import |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 49 | 0 |
| 2025 | 127 | 0 |
| 2026 | 155 | 0 |
First registrations by year, NZTA’s motor vehicle register.
Charging where you live
Rivals
Questions
How much is a Omoda E5 in NZ?
New from $40,990 (list price, on-road costs extra; Omoda’s published price, read Oct 2026).
What's the range of a Omoda E5?
Up to 430 km on a charge, as Omoda states it (WLTP).
How many Omoda E5s are on NZ roads?
332 on the register: 331 first registered here new and 0 as used imports.
