What it costs new
New from: GWM’s published price, read Oct 2026 (list price, on-road costs extra).
Range and charging
- Battery
- 58.33 kWh
- Range, WLTC
- 435 km
- Fast charge peak
- Not stated
- Battery
- 58.33 kWh
- Range, WLTC
- 435 km
- Fast charge peak
- Not stated
As stated on GWM’s NZ page, read Oct 2026. A range with no test named is GWM’s own figure.
What it costs to run
- Running cost a year
- $1,570
- At 14,000 km, charged at home overnight
- Energy use
- 15.5 kWh/100km
- As stated for its trims
Against a petrol car
The 2026 GWM Ora 5 costs $1,700 a year less to run, and puts out 2.1 tonnes less CO₂e
| A year | 2012 Toyota Corolla | 2026 GWM Ora 5 |
|---|---|---|
| Uses | 6.8 L/100 km | 15.5 kWh/100 km |
| Fuel or power | $3,270 | $500 |
| Road user charges | $0 | $1,060 |
| Total | $3,270 | $1,570 |
| CO₂e | 2,250 kg | 190 kg |
Power at 21.1c/kWh: 50% of New Zealand's 42.1c, as retailers' overnight EV plans charge (an assumption). The GWM Ora 5's stated energy use (between Lux 15.5 and Ultra 15.5 kWh/100 km, from GWM's NZ page) plus 10% for charging losses; 91 petrol at $3.43/L (MBIE, week to 2 October 2026). Servicing, tyres and insurance aren't included.
Charging where you live
Rivals
Questions
How much is a GWM Ora 5 in NZ?
New from $36,990 (list price, on-road costs extra; GWM’s published price, read Oct 2026).
What's the range of a GWM Ora 5?
Up to 435 km on a charge, as GWM states it (WLTC).
